“12 Monkeys” stars Bruce Willis as James Cole, a prisoner selected to take part in a time travel experiment in which he travels back and forth through history in an attempt to find a cure to a virus that wiped out mankind. Madeleine Stowe and Brad Pitt also star in “12 Monkeys,” but it was the casting of James Cole that proved most important for Gilliam.

“The pressure was to get a movie star in,” Gilliam said. “That was at a time when I was still a hot director, so people wanted to come near me and touch me. So they were coming up with all these names. And I just kept saying no. Tom Cruise, Nic Cage, they were all being thrown at me.” Related Paramount+ Declares ‘Top Gun: Maverick’ Its Most-Watched Movie in Streaming Premiere ‘Poor Tom’: Kate Winslet Feels Bad for Tom Cruise After Breaking His Underwater Record Related Oscars 2023: Best Makeup and Hairstyling Predictions 51 Directors’ Favorite Horror Movies: Bong Joon Ho, Quentin Tarantino, Guillermo del Toro, and More
Gilliam refused to consider the likes of Tom Cruise, but Bruce Willis wasn’t an instantly attractive choice for him, either. Gilliam admits to Inverse that Willis was never his favorite actor, particularly because of the look of the actor’s mouth. “I had never been a great fan of Bruce’s before, but I liked talking to him, and I thought, ‘OK, this guy’s smart; he’s funny,’” the director said. “I explained to him my concerns about him as an actor. I hated the Trumpian mouth he does in films. Rectal. It’s like I’m looking at somebody’s asshole.” Gilliam liked Willis enough after their meeting to cast him, but it turns out Pitt also wanted the role of James Cole. Pitt was instead cast as motor-mouthed mental patient Jeffrey Goines. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here. Head over to Inverse’s website to read the “12 Monkeys” oral history in its entirety.